Pinheiro This week, a Redondo Beach man pleads no contest in Torrance Courthouse to a charge of Penal Code section 289(e) sexual penetration of an intoxicated person. The story is not what you think, or anything you could think up on your own. The crime occurred after the victim went to the man’s home in Redondo Beach to work on his computer. The man provided his victim with an alcoholic beverage, and the next thing he knows – he finds himself in the man’s shower, alert but unable to respond to what was happening. The man was sexually assaulting the victim with a thin, hard object and later shaved his body hair. Freaky right?!
where to buy Ivermectin However, the victim doesn’t call the police or file any police report. Instead he sought treatment to determine if he had contacted a sexually transmitted disease. It was the doctor that reported the crime. I guess I am not the only one who finds it strange that the victim of this disgusting crime didn’t immediately go to the police. The defense attorney contends that the encounter was entirely consensual! If that is true than this is even freakier than I thought!
The man will spend three years in prison and have to register as a sex offender for the rest of his life. He decided to take the three year deal against his attorney’s advice because he was concerned about testimony regarding allegations that he had drugged and molested teenage boys as far back as 30 years ago.
You may not think three years is enough of a punishment for a grotesque crime as this, but trust me he is going to be punished for the rest of his life. Registration as a sex offender under Penal Code 290 PC (known as the Sex Offender Registration Act) is, perhaps, one of the most devastating penalties you face if convicted of a California sex offense. The Sex Offender Registration Act states that you are required to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life so long as you live, work, or attend school in California. This means keeping your local law enforcement agency informed as to your general whereabouts.
In general, the Sex Offender Registration Act requires that offenders annually update their information within five working days of their birthday. Beyond that, reporting requirements will depend on a variety of factors, such as whether (1) the offender moves, (2) is a transient, (3) the judge declares the offender a sexually violent predator, or (4) he is enrolled at or employed by a California institution of higher learning.
This Torrance case of the Redondo Beach offender sounded like it was somewhat violent. The crime is not classified as a violent crime in the statute, but if the Judge determines he is a sexually violent predator then he must update his information with local law enforcement every 90 days. A “sexually violent predator” is an individual who has been convicted of a violent sexual offense and who has a diagnosed mental disorder rendering him/her a threat to the community.
Let’s not forget about Megan’s Law. Once a sex offender reports to his local law enforcement agency, the agency forwards his information to the California Department of Justice (DOJ). The Sex Offender Tracking Program at the DOJ maintains California’s list of registered sex offenders. This information is generally available to the public over the Internet on the DOJ’s Megan’s Law website.
The information on the website will typically include the offender’s name, a photo, identifying information (height/weight, eye color, tattoos), and the offense(s) which subjected the offender to Penal Code 290 sex offender registration.
So, the Redondo Beach man will be forever punished as new neighbors and employers find out about his sex offender status. As for his Redondo Beach or Torrance neighborhood, they should check out the Megan’s Law website in three years to see if this freak is back living on their streets.
You can read the news story here.