The only two bodies that have a right to suspend or revoke your driving privileges in California are the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicle) and a court of law. You can request your CA criminal law attorney to check if your driver’s license has been suspended.
Denison What Is Meant By Suspension or Revocation of Your CA Driver’s License?
As is the case with other states, driving is largely regarded as a privilege in California. It is not a right you are entitled as is the case with freedom of speech. The right to maintain a driver’s license can be annulled if it is determined that you are guilty of certain felonies. Once your driver’s license has been revoked, your driving privileges within the state of California will be suspended for certain duration of time. Thereafter, through your criminal attorney in California, you can reapply for a temporary license.
pay isotretinoin When Can the DMV or Court Revoke or Suspend Your Driver’s License?
A detailed list of felonies that can cause your driving privileges to be rescinded in California can be found within the California Vehicle Code sections 13100 to 13376. Reckless driving, record of alcohol or substance abuse, psychological and physical disabilities are some of the reasons that can cause your driving privileges in California to be revoked.
However, DUI is the primary reason why the driving privileges of most motorists in California is revoked. Other DUI-related crimes which may cause your driver’s license to be suspended include declining to submit to a blood alcohol or breathalyzer test.
The instant your CA driver’s license has been cancelled, it is a criminal offense to operate a car, truck or motorcycle with a suspended license. Operating a car on a suspended license is generally classified as a misdemeanor in Los Angeles County and other counties within California. Driving on a suspended or revoked license is also different from driving an automobile without a license. The latter is a totally different offense. Consequently, if you have been detained for DUI driving on suspended license in California, it is imperative that you consult an experienced CA DUI attorney.
Penalties for Operating an Automobile on Either a Suspended or Cancelled Driver’s License
The consequences for driving an automobile on either a suspended or cancelled driver’s license differ hinging on the purpose for cancellation of the license. However, if the reason is related to a DUI charge, the penalties can be harsh. The penalties for DUI driving on suspended license in California include:
- Monetary fines ranging from $300 to $1000. This is in addition to a probable jail time hinging from 5 days to 6 months. This conviction is related to a first-time offense.
- Monetary fines ranging from $500 to $2000 as well as a possibility of spending time in jail for a period not less than 10 days and not more than 1 year if this is your second conviction.
If you are arrested for a second DUI driving on suspended license in California means that you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. The interlock device primarily functions in monitoring your driving behavior. Given the gravity of the penalties, it is imperative that you hire a California DWI attorney in the event you are arrested for DUI driving on suspended license.
About Guest California Criminal Defense Lawyer & Author:
If located in Orange County California and you need a DUI attorney for your case, contact The Law Offices of Christopher J McCann for a free case consultation. You can also follow Chris McCann’s tweets on twitter at @CJM_Law_Firm for related drunk driving law rants or pick up a print copy of my published author DUI book.
If you liked reading this post, please check out my other articles posted here: