Vellore Drunk driving laws in California are among the toughest in the USA. They are very clear and all drivers should be aware of what they are. The consequences of breaking them can have a major impact on your life.
The standard measurement used across the United States for an “impaired” driver is a concentration of 0.08 percent or more alcohol in the system. Drivers under the age of 21 may not drive with a blood alcohol concentration exceeding 0.01 percent while there is zero tolerance for those under 18. Commercial vehicle drivers are restricted to a maximum of 0.04 percent and anyone with a DUI conviction is limited to 0.01 percent.
Under California’s drunk driving laws, a driver is required to take a breath, blood or urine test if arrested for a DUI offense. Refusal to take a test could result in a one-year license suspension – longer if it is not your first offense – as well as a fine. Even if you have not been arrested, a Police Officer can request that you take a preliminary breath test. You can refuse but this will count against you if there is a court case later. In any event, the Officer should explain your rights and obligations under the law.
A DUI conviction can mean jail time, a fine and license suspension. A first offense carries a minimum of 96 hours jail up to a maximum of six month, a fine of between $390 and $1,000 and six months license suspension. Subsequent convictions bring much more severe penalties. However, if a third party has been injured or it is a fourth conviction, then a California DUI can be charged as a felony.
Conviction rates under drunk driving laws in California are high and the penalties are severe, so if you are unfortunate enough to find yourself being arrested, it is vital that you secure the services of an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. This will give you the best chance of minimizing the consequences for you and your family.